top of page

Happy Helsday! Are you ready for Lady Hel?


Yes, today is another day to celebrate! Woot! A new release with characters who've helped to make this year a wonderful one.


In Hellbent, we return to Lady Hel (picking up shortly after the conclusion of Hellish), and she's has a plan that could have immense consequences, which include the wish to free her siblings -- Fenrir and Jormungandr (the Midgard Serpent) from their holding cells.


And this time, things are complicated by Sif, a young woman, who is struck between two gods.


This fantasy is filled with mythological references, and brings the gods to life like never before. They could be sitting in your living having coffee with you, they are just that real!


Here is an excerpt:


This wasn’t about a virus to be uploaded, but something else that lurked here.


Its power caused my ears to ring like someone was playing a shrill guitar.


“Sif,” Verdandi called after me.


My eyes began to well with tears at the longing that called to me, like the forgone kisses of a lost lover, wisps of a memory once cherished, the laughter of a child I could never call mine.

A slight breeze carried a moving chant in it. It tugged and pulled me, and my feet followed its commands.


Freedom. It screamed it to me, knowing my name better than I knew it myself.


“What the hell?” Verdandi called after me. But my feet moved of their own accord across the room toward the large glass case. I reached out to touch the glass.


“No,” Verdandi said, “It’s not something you need to touch.” But it was too late.


I punched through the glass and gripped the grayish rock with the amethyst in it. The alarm blared.

It weighed almost nothing, and I was entranced. Memories crashed into me and raced me back to the beginning of the world. The amethyst began to move and crawl, breaking out of the rock’s shell, and inched up my hands bypassing my fingertips, until it bored its way down to the veins in my wrists.

Energy I’d never felt soaked inside of me as if I’d gripped a hot lightbulb in my hands but couldn’t let go.

I threw back my arms and surrendered to this which stirred my soul as a bright purple and blue fiery light closed in around me. I inhaled it, becoming one with this power.


I saw the golden fields of Asgard filled with bounty and in the distance, as I walked along the winding road, a large building towered over the others. The city’s gates were open to me and the armed guards walked along the red granite streets and nodded in greeting as if they knew me. Laughter hung in the air like sweet ambrosia—so thick that I could taste it on my lips. My skin soaked in the sunlight and warmth, but it did not burn. Instead, it filled my stomach with such richness, a glory of goodness that I’d never known in a dark world. It was better than the magic I’d recently tasted. I felt its primordial call, something ancient.


You are the key, and the key is inside of you. I heard an almost angelic voice declare. If I’d believed in out-of-body experiences, this would have been it.


I watched as the amethyst I held melted onto my skin and was quickly absorbed. Its heat, akin to warm oil, washed over me, filling me.


You are chosen, dear Sif of Cascadia. Night will fall; you must not.


Grab your copy today of Legends and Lore and continue reading! If you love the Norse gods and goddesses, have an unhealthy interest in all things Thor and Loki related, or just need to get your Norse gods fix since you've already viewed the latest Thor: Ragnarok movie, then this you don't want to miss!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page